Luxury Law Awards

Winners of the Luxury Law Awards 2017

Georg Jensen Slim

Networking reception sponsor

The Luxury Law Awards are designed to recognise the skills that it takes to guide a luxury business or brand to profitable success and the legal teams who stand behind the best luxury business leaders.

Organised in conjunction with the Luxury Law Summit, which is the only event to bring together luxury business leaders with the legal advisers who support their businesses, the Awards offer a similarly unique opportunity for general counsel, in-house legal teams and law firms to gain recognition for their specialist skills and expertise in the luxury sector.

Winning a Luxury Law Award will demonstrate that you, or your team, are leading the field in the practice of luxury law and in the development of good business strategy in complex and challenging international luxury markets.

winner. lewis. twitter

This year, there were nine categories for the Luxury Law Awards 2017.

Five were nominated categories; Our Award Judges, selected from across the luxury sectors, nominated those who displayed excellence in their area.

The four categories open for entry by in-house legal teams and law firms working for luxury brands were judged by our team of Award Judges.

Luxury Law Awards 2017 Entered categories

 Ava Farshidi
Assistant General Counsel • Rebecca Minkoff

Luxury Law Rising Star Award

The winner of this category is a rising talent in the world of luxury law who, at the start of her career, has already demonstrated the ability to add real value to the luxury business sector.


• Hilary Atherton, Bird & Bird
• Penelope Bowers, Swarovski
• Ava Farshidi, Rebecca Minkoff
• Agnieszka Witońska-Pakulska, Kilarski i Wspólnicy
• Arianna Iacomelli, Furla

Sponsored by: Killik & Co.


Luxury Business In-house Legal Team of the Year

The winner of this category is an in-house legal team who was able to demonstrate how they have met the challenges facing their business and provided a substantial and measurable contribution to their company’s success over the past year (from 1 January 2016 to 29 February 2017). Our judges evaluated particular issues and the approach taken to overcome these, about how the in-house legal team worked with their colleagues in the business to develop new opportunities and how the business leadership team acknowledged their contribution.

Shortlist:Zwicky Windlin & Partner

• Daimler 
• Coty
• Marc Jacobs

Sponsored by: Zwicky Windlin & Partner

Kelly Koyama-Garcia
General Counsel • Marc Jacobs

Luxury Business General Counsel of the Year

The winner of this category is a General Counsel who has contributed to business success (from 1 January 2016 to 29 February 2017) and delivered both team leadership and leadership for the luxury sector.

Shortlist:Eversheds_Sutherland Secondary 220

• Kelly Koyama-Garcia, Marc Jacobs
• Jennifer Picenoni, Lindt & Sprungli
• Gwénaëlle Vache, Franck Muller

Sponsored by Eversheds Sutherland

Mishcon de Reya

Luxury Law Firm of the Year

The winner of this category is a law firm with a luxury sector practice who was able to demonstrate the effective contribution they are making to their clients’ business, through innovations in the services they provide and/or leadership over industry issues.

Shortlist:Scarpellini 220x115

• Baker McKenzie
• Bryan Cave
• Eversheds Sutherland
• Mishcon de Reya
• K&L Gates

Sponsored by Scarpellini Naj-Oleari & Partners

 Timeline for the entered categories:

22 March: Deadline for Entries
26 April: Announcement of our Finalists
2nd May: Announcement of our Lifetime Achievement in Luxury Law and Deal of the Year award winners
16 May: Winners announced at the Luxury Law Reception at the close of the Luxury Law Summit


Luxury Law Awards 2017 Nominated Categories

The Luxury Law Summit Award Judges made nominations for the winners of the following categories.

 Trino Verkade
Trustee • Sarabande

Luxury Business Leader 2017

Awarded to a CEO of a luxury business who, in the past year, has delivered growth for their brands and/or implemented a business development strategy that is innovative and proving effective.

Shortlist:Sena e tarchini 200x115

Holli Rogers, Browns
• Trino Verkade, Trustee, Sarabande
Ciara Hurley-Stewart, Asprey

Sponsored by: Studio Legale Sena e Tarchini

Amelia Rope
Amelia Rope Chocolate

Luxury Entrepreneur 2017

Awarded to a business owner who has launched a new brand or business in the luxury sector or taken a new brand/business to the next level.


• Levi Palmer/Matthew Harding, Palmer Harding
• Amelia Rope, Amelia Rope Chocolate
• Olivia von Halle, Olivia von Halle Ltd
• Natasha Leith-Smith, Allumer Jewellery

Sponsored by: McCarthy Tétrault 


Sustainability Award 2017

Awarded to a company which has made the greatest efforts to embrace sustainability in the luxury sector.

Shortlist:Fladgate_Logo CMYK.220

• Kering
• Tiffany & Co.
• Ermenegildo Zegna

Sponsored by: Fladgate

Joint winner: CotyGeorg Jensen 220
Joint winner: Burberry

Deal of the year
Sponsored by: Georg Jensen

 Keith BenjaminTaylorWessing
General Counsel • Jaguar Land Rover

Lifetime Achievement in Luxury Law
Sponsored by: Taylor Wessing

Awarded to Jaguar Land Rover general counsel Keith Benjamin, whom our judges felt has, during the course of his career, made a substantial contribution to the development of luxury law, to the protection of the luxury brands and to the growth of successful businesses in the luxury sector.